Council of Accountability Court Judges 2020 Award Winners

The 2020 Council of Accountability Court Judges (CACJ) Annual Training Conference took place on September 14 through 16. Each year the CACJ recognizes outstanding individuals and courts for their service and leadership to Georgia’s accountability courts. This year’s winners are:

Inaugural Judge Stephen S. Goss Award

In memory of the late Judge Stephen S. Goss, the Council of Accountability Court Judges has created an award to honor his life and legacy as a nationally recognized expert on mental health. In 2002, Judge Goss founded the Dougherty Superior Court Mental Health & Substance Abuse Treatment Program. It served as one of four learning sites for mental health courts as designated by the United States Bureau of Justice Assistance and was the first mental health court created in the state of Georgia. This year’s award winner is:

Chief Judge Kathy Gosselin, Northeastern Judicial Circuit

Honorable Tommy Day Wilcox Leadership Award

Honoring court personnel who exemplify vision and sound leadership in promoting the mission of accountability court in Georgia. The 2020 Honorable Tommy Day Wilcox Leadership Awardee is:

Chief Judge Reuben Green, Cobb County Veterans Treatment Court

Star Awards

Recognizing outstanding individuals for their service and dedication to Georgia’s accountability courts.

  • Judge Rhathelia Stroud, DeKalb County Misdemeanor Mental Health Court
  • Darcy Kamau, Coordinator, Cobb County DUI Court
  • Ramona Burkett, Case Manager, Cobb County Veterans Court
  • Donna McDonald, Treatment Provider, Henry County Resource Court
  • Cornelius Evans, Probation Officer, Troup County Adult Drug Court
  • Lt. Faye Spaulding, Law Enforcement Officer, Piedmont Circuit Drug Court
  • Hal Walker, Defense Attorney, Hall County Drug Court
  • Nancy Grey Smith, Prosecutor, Savannah-Chatham Mental Health Court

CACJ’s Model Court Initiative

The goal of Georgia’s Accountability Court Model Court program, supported by the Council of Accountability Court Judges (CACJ), is to recognize the great work of accountability courts across the state, as well as identify strong programs that may serve as mentors for other courts. Programs identified as “Model Courts” are those that have met and exceeded adherence to Georgia’s Standards as dictated by strong performance on certification and peer review processes.

2020-2023 Model Mental Health Courts

  • Alcovy Judicial Circuit Resource Courts, Judges Samuel Ozburn (Newton) and Judge Eugene Benton (Walton)
  • Appalachian Judicial Circuit H.E.L.P. Court, Judge John Worcester
  • Cobb County Mental Health Court, Judge Mary Staley Clark
  • Henry County Resource Court, Judge William Bartles
  • Northeastern Judicial Circuit HELP Courts, Chief Judge Kathlene Gosselin
  • Piedmont Circuit Mental Health Court, Judge Currie Mingledorff
  • Rome Circuit Mental Health Court, Judge John Niedrach
  • Savannah-Chatham Mental Health Court, Judge Penny Haas Freesemann

2020-2023 Model DUI Courts

  • Athens-Clarke County DUI Court, Judge Charles E. Auslander, III
  • Chatham County DUI Court, Judge H. Gregory Fowler
  • DeKalb County DUI Court Program, Judge Alvin T. Wong and Judge Dax. E. Lopez
  • Douglas County Misdemeanor Drug/DUI Court, Judge Eddie Barker and Judge Brian Fortner
  • Hall County DUI Court, Judge Larry A. Baldwin, II
  • Liberty County DUI Court, Judge Jeff Osteen
  • Rockdale County DUI Court, Judge Nancy N. Bills
  • Troup County DUI Court, Judge Jeanette L. Little

Inaugural Data Driven Award

This award recognizes program(s)’s commitment to strong data collection, self-evaluation, and information sharing. This year’s winner is:

Northeastern Judicial Circuit Treatment Courts

  • Dawson County Treatment Court (Drug/DUI)
  • Dawson County HELP Court
  • Dawson County Family Treatment Court
  • Hall County Adult Drug Court
  • Hall County HELP Court
  • Hall County Family Treatment Court
  • Hall County DUI Court
  • Hall County PAC Court

Leave a Reply