Council of Municipal Court Judges Swears In New Officers and Training Council Members.

The Council of Municipal Court Judges Annual Summer Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony was held June 24, 2021, after a year hiatus due to the pandemic. In addition to the business meeting, the Council provided its annual summer Law and Practice Update where judges received training on many topics: Judicial Health and Wellness; Updates on DUI Law & Legislation; Implicit Bias; Professionalism for Judges; Traffic Case Procedure and Administration and Mental Illness & How It Presents on Your Court.

Honorable Carol W. Hunstein, Supreme Court of Georgia (1992-2018), attended the business meeting as the Council’s guest speaker and administered the oath of office to the newly elected officers.

The Council elected new officers and District Representatives for 2021-2022:

President Judge Lori B. Duff, Municipal Court of Monroe;
President-Elect Judge JaDawnya Baker, Municipal Court of Atlanta;
Vice President Chief Judge Matthew McCord, Municipal Court of Stockbridge;
Secretary Judge Nathan Wade, Municipal Court of Marietta;
Treasurer Judge David Will, Municipal Court of Clarkston;
Immediate Past President Chief Judge Willie C. Weaver Sr., Municipal Court of Albany

District Two: Chief Judge Willie C. Weaver Sr. and Judge Gregory T. Williams; 
District Four Judge Michael B. Nation and Judge Jennifer Mann; 
District Five: Judge Roberta Cooper; 
District Six: Judge James J. Dalton II and Judge Wanda Dallas; 
District Eight: Judge Joseph Sumner and Judge Dexter Wimbish; 
District Ten: Judge Ryan Hope and Judge Dale “Bubba” Samuels

Chief Judge Rashida Oliver and Judge Rick Ryczek were elected to the Municipal Court Judges Training Council.

The Council recognized several municipal court judges with accolades for various achievements. Judge Claude D. Mason, Municipal Court of Duluth, received the Frost Ward Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes a municipal court judge who has made significant contributions to the Council of Municipal Court Judges over a long period of time.

Judge G. Hammond Law III, Gainesville Municipal Court, was awarded the Special Recognition Award for effective leadership and innovation during these unprecedented times; his court staff nominated him for this honor. Chief Judge Norman H. Cuadra, Municipal Court of Suwannee, and Judge Parag Shah, Municipal Court of Atlanta were recognized with the Glen Ashman Education Achievement Award, which honors judges that exemplify judicial education through extensive time and efforts towards educating municipal court judges and clerks.

The Council’s President’s Award, on behalf of Chief Judge Willie Weaver, Sr., was awarded to Judge Lori B. Duff, Municipal Court of Monroe; for her unwavering leadership and support through unprecedented times; Chief Judge Norman H. Cuadra, Municipal Court of Suwannee, for his for steadfast leadership and tirelessly serving the Council through unprecedented times and LaShawn Murphy, Trial Court Liaison, Judicial Council/Administrative Office of the Courts for her outstanding service and selfless dedication to the Council.

The Council also recognized Representative Chuck Efstration, 104th, for perseverance and continuing support of the Council In the legislature and Representative Bert Reeves, 34th, for perseverance in the General Assembly in the passage of HB 479.

Leave a Reply